Paper Power: National Stationery Show

While the amount of beautifully crafted paper goods at the National Stationery Show can be mind boggling, I had a thoroughly enjoyable day and connected with vendors from Brooklyn, New York to Port Townsend, Washington. I will be featuring some of the lovely folks I met soon, however, I wanted to start off with my Top Ten picks from the show.

As I reviewed my photographs I realized I was mostly taken with goods other than crafty cards. Don’t get me wrong, there were spectacular paper goods showcased at the show, yet, I was drawn to the vendors who offered diversity in their line of products. To become a ‘one stop shop’ for retailers, I’d imagine this is the natural progression.

In no particular order, below are my Top Ten Picks from the 2012 National Stationery Show. More to follow!

Above: Old School Stationers made me smile with their brightly colored card packs, kitschy motifs and super sweet tote bags. This family-owned letterpress studio from Portland, Oregon is one to watch!

Below: I love vintage (as you know) and I found a new favorite in My Mother’s Buttons. Every product is made from authentic vintage buttons and the initial buttons below were once used for horse bridles. How did I not know something so beautiful existed? Just spectacular.

Above: Maybe it’s the wine lover in me or the fact I’ve always wanted glass doorknobs in my home, either way, these wine bottle stoppers by Knobstoppers are tres chic!

Below: Kata Golda was a “must see” booth based on the press kit alone (more on that later). Her hand dyed felt goods for every occasion give you an instant feeling of home. The stuffed companions below are simply perfection.

Above: Aesthetic Movement represents a multitude of crafty wares and The Frausto & Co. Spy Deck of cards was a favorite. Each card shares tidbits that one would need to survive a James Bond lifestyle. I also admired their Garden Deck which shared growing instructions for fruits and vegetables.

Below: Lea from Leafcutter Designs was one of my favorite vendors. Not only was she super sweet but her curious creations are small bits of perfection. The Recipe Dice below are perfect for the foodie in your life!

Above: What can I say about The White Cabinet that would thoroughly explain my love for everything in this booth. The 1950’s & 1960’s fashion illustrations by Hilda Glasgow make my heart skip a beat. Her daughter Liz transformed the vintage images into greeting cards, stamps and uber-stylish gift wrap which would delight any design enthusiast. In fact, Liz just was just awarded the best Eco-Chic Product at the National Stationery Show for her new soy ink based gift wrap!

Below: I adore lavender and as you know, I love anything French! I fell in love with the romantic product line by Estelle Billot who showcased these hand silk screened lavender sachets in a multitude of dreamy fabrics. I say, Oui, s’il-vous-plaît.

Above: Sticky notes never get old for me. The Leaf-it notes by b.b. begonia are so detailed and delicate, they should be displayed as wall art.

Below: A local vendor favorite, The Great Lakes Goods, had such a fun variety of goods yet, A Tiny Celebration (below) stood out from the crowd. Literally an instant party in a bag, it is the perfect item to slip into a greeting card for friends of all ages. Everyone needs some sparkle in their life!

Don’t forget to check back for more reviews and coverage from the National Stationery Show!


3 thoughts on “Paper Power: National Stationery Show

Leave a Reply

