By Any Other Name

© Little Maison - International Rose Test Garden - Portland, Oregon

This past Fall while my boyfriend and I were visiting Portland, Oregon we spent an afternoon in the International Rose Test Garden.  Amazingly it opened in 1917 and it still thriving as a public garden that acts as a test ground for new rose species.  Even though we visited in September, there were many roses still in full bloom.  I made sure to drop a postcard from their shop in the mail to my Mother who has a new found love for roses.

Soon after my trip while I was Christmas shopping, I happened upon a book filled with lovely drawings and stories on the origins of rose names.   It made a wonderful gift for my Mother who oohed and ahhhed as she flipped the pastel filled pages.   A Rose by Any Other Name by Douglas Brenner & Stephen Scanniello is a wonderful book for creative inspiration and even offers a recipe for rose water.

I’d highly recommendm the garden if you find yourself in Portland, Oregon or simply pick up the book if you need a sweet read.

© Little Maison - International Rose Test Garden - Portland, Oregon

One thought on “By Any Other Name

Leave a Reply

